Our Vision

We envision an Africa where high-quality emergency care is realised for all

Our Mission

We strive to strengthen emergency care systems in Africa, through leading collaborative efforts and championing advocacy. We drive the strategic research agenda, provide guidance for education and training, and facilitate the development of sustainable policies and frameworks to strengthen emergency care systems in Africa.

Our Approach

Building resilient, effective emergency care systems in Africa requires a deliberate and comprehensive approach. At AFEM our approach has six components.


We build the capacity of emergency care professionals across Africa.


We advocate for emergency care to be prioritised by global stakeholders on global platforms.


We foster global collaborations and partnerships for emergency care development in Africa.


We drive the strategic research agenda to ensure that the development of emergency care in Africa is based on evidence specific to the African context.


We guide the development of emergency care curriculums, courses, and training programs across Africa for all tiers of the emergency care system.


We develop comprehensive policies and frameworks alongside governments and stakeholders to support the adoption of robust emergency care systems across Africa.

We’re strengthening emergency care across the continent.

Our Team

Executive Management Team

President: Annet Alenyo

President: Annet Alenyo

Dr Annet Alenyo Ngabirano MBCHB(MUST), MScDisMed(EMDM), MMedEM(SUN), FCEM(SA) is a Ugandan Emergency Physician. Her career has taken her from medical school in rural Uganda to working in Uganda’s public and private facilities, training as an Emergency Physician in South Africa’s public system and currently supporting faculty at the EM Residency program at Makerere University. She believes African emergency healthcare can, should and will be better.

COO: Lauren Lai King

COO: Lauren Lai King

Dr.Lauren Lai King MMed(Emerg Med), FCEM(SA), DipPEC(SA), MBBCh(WITS) is a specialist emergency medicine physician and senior lecturer at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. Her experience in both urban and rural centres across South Africa has been pivotal in fostering her commitment to further develop emergency medicine training in South Africa. She is grateful for the opportunity to be of service within AFEM and expand her activities into Africa. Her vision is to advocate, build and support equitable, accessible and sustainable emergency care systems throughout the African region.

Immediate Past President: Benjamin Wachira

Immediate Past President: Benjamin Wachira

Dr Benjamin W. Wachira (MBChB, Dip PEC, FCEM) is an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine at the Aga Khan University, Nairobi. He is also the Founding Director of the Emergency Medicine Kenya Foundation, an organisation dedicated to the development of evidence-based universal emergency care in Kenya through education, research and advocacy. As President of AFEM, he hopes to unite the voices of emergency care providers from across the continent to collectively define emergency care in Africa.

Treasurer: Sithembile Mtombeni

Treasurer: Sithembile Mtombeni

Dr. Sithembile Mtombeni MBChB, MSc (Med Education), MBA (Healthcare), FCEM (SA), Mmed (EM) is a Specialist in Emergency Medicine. She is passionately dedicated and sincerely driven to advocate for and empower communities and medical practitioners to save lives through advanced and rational education in clinical emergency care that is underpinned by effective clinical governance, backed by sound operational research.

Vice President: Joe Bonney

Vice President: Joe Bonney

Dr. Joe Bonney completed the European Masters of Disaster Medicine in 2019 and has been accepted in the International Doctoral Program in Global Health, Humanitarian Aid and Disaster Medicine. He is a Specialist Emergency Physician at Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital (KATH), and heads the Research Unit of his Department.

AFEM Patrons

University Hospital of Bern, Switzerland: Dr. Aristomenis Exadaktylos

University Hospital of Bern, Switzerland: Dr. Aristomenis Exadaktylos

Professor Aristomenis Exadaktylos, MD, MSc., FRCEM is Chairman, Clinical Director and Professor at the University Hospital of Bern, Department of Emergency Medicine Inselspital Bern. As a Professor, he is a recipient of many international awards and grants for his contributions and discoveries in major area of research and for his philanthropic work. He currently serves as the co-president of the Swiss Society of Emergency Medicine and Rescue Medicine and is the founder of the South African - Swiss center for excellence in emergency medicine www.ceem.info, which supports emergency medicine worldwide.

Our Membership

We are a network of over 2,000 members

From 25 different countries


  • 37 Military Hospital Critical Care Nurses Group
  • Association de Medecine d’Urgence du Congo Kinshasa (AMUCK)
  • ATA International
  • Destination Medicine
  • Egyptian Resuscitation Council
  • Emergency Care Society of South Africa
  • Emergency Medicine Kenya Foundation (EM Kenya)
  • Forum for Associate Specialist and Staff Grade Doctors in
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Global Emergency Care
  • Heal Africa
  • Medline Angola
  • RapidDeploy
  • Sidharte
  • Uganda Ambulance Service
  • Yaounde Emergency Centre (CURY)


  • Association de Médecine d’Urgence de la République Démocratique du Congo (AMURDC)
  • Egyptian Society for Emergency Medicine (EgSEM)
  • Ethiopian Society for Emergency Professionals (ESEP)
  • Society of Emergency Medicine Practitioners of Nigeria (SEMPON)
  • Libyan Emergency Medicine Association (LEMA)
  • Emergency Medicine Society of South Africa (EMSSA)
  • Sudanese Emergency Physicians Association (SEPA)
  • Rwanda Emergency Care Association (RECA)
  • Emergency Medicine Association of Tanzania (EMAT)
  • Zimbabwe Emergency Medicine Society (ZEMS)

Membership of AFEM is open to individuals or societies committed to supporting emergency care across Africa.

Contact Us

Metro EMS
Karl Bremer Hospital
Mike Pienaar Blvd
Belville, South Africa